How have your art skills progressed over time?

I’m curious to see how people have gotten better at art, I got the idea from finding this old piece of artwork on my computer.

And then seeing the most recent drawing of the same character, drawn a year after it.

And I’m interested in seeing how other people’s art has evolved. So, Do you have any pictures of the same character drawn a long time apart? Or perhaps have you ever redrawn an old art piece? I’m really curious to see. :smile:

42 Likes

1 Like

https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/220378530834415618/233332033504411649/PIC_0408.JPG

1 Like

To avoid making a very image-heavy post, I’ve linked improvement memes I’ve done.

-2013 VS 2015
-2012 VS 2013 VS 2014
-2007-2013 oh boy…

And here’s a couple things from this year to compare:

11 Likes

2013:

2016:
Not much has changed, actually.

13 Likes

Actually, I’ve been drawing the same character’s head annually for the past three years, just to see how I’d improve, I’ll take pictures of them soon.

1 Like

Drawing of mine from 2013:

Drawing of mine from-what, 3 months ago?

I don’t think I’ve improved much.

1 Like

About a year and a half ago:

Now:

20 Likes

Edit: This bloke, also:

2 Likes

Not the best example I could find, but I thought it’d be interesting to compare the two.

Drawing of Toa Stoax from 2015

Drawing of Toa Stoax from May

14 Likes

well…

lets just say a few years, some awkward things, and a bunch of other stuff leads to an evolution

5 Likes

Lol I know I’ve improved but literally (ok maybe not literally) all of my art is purposely crap so I have no way to show progression lol
I’ve just started to notice I put more effort into my crap

2 Likes

This topic implies that I had art skills to begin with.

8 Likes

I went from only being able to draw 2D blueprint-style weapons or armor to only being able to draw slightly more detailed 2D blueprint-style weapons or armor.