Digital Coloring Experiments

Some recent attempts at digital coloring, utilizing characters from the two ends of my story spectrum, Judah Alisdair and Mara Alisaedra. Judah Alisdair is a lion-leopard mix, and is a member of the King’s Rangers, a company of bounty hunters that keep the peace in the lawless desert frontiers.
Mara Alisaedra is his ancestor from 600 years earlier in the storyline.

I’m not too happy with the shading on the Judah. Something about it just looks…off.

Mara Alisaedra

Judah Alisdair

13 Likes

Looks really good!
I agree about Judah, the shading could be a little better.

2 Likes

Really nice! If I were to make a suggestion (now take this with a grain of salt, I’m not a pro by any stretch of the imagination) it would be to make certain deeper parts of the shadows even darker, and add some higlights to the bright areas. And maybe make the shading lines a bit smoother and more defined. Keep up the good work!

1 Like

Yay, ancient Zootopia!

both looks good

1 Like

This is a really good start!

I think the shading is definitely what needs worked on the most. In the first image there’s a very clear light source, which is good, but some of the light doesn’t make sense. For example, the arm on our left has heavy lighting on its left side, but the light is coming from the top right. There’s also no indications of rim light, so it doesn’t make sense to be lit on that side. Other than perhaps some more light falling on the dress, the rest of it is in line.