How Can I Make Custom Mask Molds?

I have been interested in silicone molding and stuff like that to make custom Bionicle masks. However, I’m not sure what the best kit is, and I don’t know how to mold stuff with holes…
Any recommendations?

3 Likes

I’m no expert, believe me.
The only thing I can suggest is this:

I’ve never done it myself ( and the mask the person in the video makes just looks awful) but I’m sure the process works… I think!
I hope this may help!

6 Likes

I have actually seen that video before a while back, but I’ll take a look.
Plus, I’m not planning to make my own mask out of stuff, I was planning on taking a mask and putting that into a mold so I can make the same mask out of miscellaneous materials, such as other colors of plastic, candy, metal, etc.
Thanks though! :slight_smile:

1 Like

It would work the same with a plain mask.

2 Likes

Edited title and moved to creative content

3 Likes

Ok. I will try to say what I meant to say for everyone to understand.
How do I make a mold from a plain mask and make masks out of other materials?
P.S. Im as starving as a Muaka. I gotta go get some chimichangas. Be right back.

An easy way is to make a sand mold.

Here’s the best example I can show you, you might have to either find more videos or just devise a way of solidifying the mold so it can be used over and over.

Another option is to buy some plaster and make a mold from that.

3 Likes

I’m not sure if you’re big on Warhammer 40k or other Games Workshop products but there’s this stuff called Green Stuff that’s fairly cheap at around 12$ it’s really easy sculpting putty that hardens on it’s own (no oven required) and it can make some really great models. I think it’d be suitable for Bionicle Masks, I’ve never tried to make a mask with it but I’m sure if you get the shape right (or even stick an axle in there for some of the the G1 masks) That might work I’ll leave a link here in case you wanna get some and try it out.