Toa Helryx Mask

Go easy on me, this is my first attempt at 3d modeling using blender, so it’s a bit rough. Shapeways link here. And, of course, you can use this in the moc contest.

When I was designing this, I was trying to go for a fusion of the kaukau and vahi, figuring that her mask had a time related power, and seeing as she was a toa of water. I think I struck that pretty well. I was designing this imagining it in trans blue, but shapeways doesn’t offer that, so I guess solid blue is the best we can do. The mask is designed for glatorian heads, because that was just what fit the shape best, to do other heads I’d have to re-scale the whole design, plus, there’s not a whole lot of custom masks for glatorian heads anyway, so it’s only fair. Let the Pics commence!

The Inspiration:

The model:

The Process:

AHEM… Uhh, those fins weren’t supposed to break off, but because i was doing low detail test prints, they snapped off super easy, that isn’t indicative of the final product

Questions Comments Concerns all welcome, Thanks for checking this out! When my shapeways order comes in (you have to buy your print to sell it on shapeways) I’ll do my own helryx moc for the contest

15 Likes

Will there be an alternate version for metru heads?

1 Like

Likely not, I would have to redo a lot of the design regarding the lower half of the mask to do so, but if enough people ask for it, I’ll consider it.

2 Likes

Okay, just curious.

1 Like

I really like it, maybe add a fairing between the side bits and the vertical section, it might make it stronger and more connected.

1 Like

You couldn’t see it in any of the original pics, but it’s already there

4 Likes

Give it some eye holes man

1 Like

Like I said, this was originally meant to be clear, so the entire top part was supposed to be a visor

1 Like

The looks super cool! Can’t wait to see how it looks on a figure!

2 Likes