Copyright Status of MoCs?

So I’m wondering, does Lego hold copyright on all of the MoCs that I produce using their parts?

Let’s say that I make a MoC out of Lego bricks that looks nothing like an official Lego set and put it on the cover of a book I plan to sell, for example. The book has nothing to do with Lego. Does TLG have the grounds to sue me for copyright infringement?

Related: could I be accused of misrepresenting TLG by using their parts and be sued for libel?

4 Likes

I’m not a lawyer (so take this with a grain of salt), but I very much doubt it.

If that were true, clay companies could sue people for using their product, Games Workshop could sue people for painting their Warhammer models a non-regulation paint-job, and many other things.

Besides, even if they could, if you look at their policies, they’re only coming after you if you claim to BE Lego. Otherwise, you safe.

8 Likes

I have to agree here for the most part (again, not a lawyer, so this isn’t legal advice).

You can’t copyright individual components of certain creative works. As @ProfSrlojohn said, that would mean anyone producing works that require materials or components could never be legally made.

The best, but imperfect, example of this is music. No single person can own an individual musical note. If that were the case, that note could never be used in any songs. Instead, people can own certain arrangements or configurations of those notes (in other words, they own the rights to their own songs).

Now, it’s not quite a perfect analogy because LEGO does own the actual design of the LEGO brick and any other piece they produce. In this case, the components themselves are owned by an entity, but any creation you make with them is legally your work.