How to explain the Bionicle to a newbie?

Hello,

So I have a friend that has never really gotten into Bionicle back in the day. Now he’s certainly seen them in stores and thought they were nifty things, but I think to him they were just “designs” and not really part of a larger expansive story.

Anyways, we’ve been thinking about doing a podcast or video series where we each pick a franchise unknown to the other and try to explain to one another the lore, history, and interesting facts regarding it. And of course, I want to explain Bionicle since I know he’ll be very intrigued by the series… assuming I explain it right that is.

So I am here to ask how exactly to I jump into explaining Bionicle? Do I explain first how the series was conceived? Do I explain the general culture of this world?

If anyone has any idea how to approach this to someone new please let me know, it would really help me out. Thanks!

5 Likes

For a total newbie, I think the comics are an easy introduction to the story. They can all be found here.

I also think a brief summary of how the franchise was conceived would be a good idea.

1 Like

Idk how to help you with your problem, but,

^ this is a great idea for a show.

5 Likes

Thanks, I’m glad to hear that it’s something people would be interested in.

1 Like

If I was going to explain Bionicle to someone who had no prior experience with it, I would start with the basics without going into too much detail.

For example the 6 elements, the hierarchy of characters (Toa, Matoran, Turaga), the Island Mata Nui, Makuta, and the story from there out. You could expand a lot more and get into the other years, but I think the first years of Bionicle are a good starting point for new people.

5 Likes

I was actually thinking of the basics in this manner, my only worry with this is how to get my friend on the same page. Things can easily go over his head if I’m not too careful haha.

here’s how I would explain it: