Ninjago Samurai X Fanart

Let’s see if I can create a thread where I post my progress on this art piece as I go along. I’ll probably edit this as I progress and add more stuff, so please check back often!

That being said, here’s my newest piece of fanart, made for a giant ninjago fan project: Samurai X!

Final edit: Wow, was this one fun to do!! It’s all done now, sadly.

Added some effects. Had to tinker for a while with the glows. Was originally gonna have them be much more extreme, but it looked too chaotic.

The shadows look really cool at 100% opacity, but alas, this’ll do for the cell shading. Time to move onto effects, blending, etc!

Pre-shading was REALLY fun to do. I’m new to that sorta style but I wanna get better at adding subtle undertones before I go into hard shadows.

I’ve got the flat colours done now. Ready for shading! Also received some constructive criticism over discord about the hips, so I did fix the proportions too.

The cleaning up of the lineart is now done. Gonna finally lay down some base colours now!