Roaming the Flatlands (BioCup2023 Round 1 entry by Nota)

Hello everyone!

Well dang… here we go again. it’s still biocupping time and all that

After doing pretty well in the preliminary round of this year’s Cup (I somehow scored higher than Djokson of all people, and scoring higher than someone whom you admire a lot is a win in my book), I was confidently waiting for the announcement of the Round 1 theme and subthemes…

Well, when the theme was revealed to be Biomes and I found out that I got the subtheme “Flatlands”, all that confidence of mine threw itself out the window. Of the highest floor. Of the tallest skyscraper in the world.

Yeah, I’m not very experienced with creating scenery out of Lego. Especially Bionicle. Especially when the scenery in question is flatlands of all things, literally the most boring choice I can imagine.

The main inspiration for this build were the many pictures of ominous robots in foggy flatland-ish environments that you’ve all probably seen on the internet a thousand times (thank you very much to Ghid for giving me that idea). The robot was relatively simple to build, while the grass part gave me a couple of headaches. The logical solution to creating a big flat area of grass is to build it out of system, but I couldn’t bring myself to do that for several reasons. The first one is I’m a Bionicle builder, not a system builder, so my selection of system parts is extremely limited and I don’t have any of it in bulk, especially green parts. The second reason is that BioCup is a Bionicle-based contest (gee, who would’ve thought), so using too much system would be very unsportsmanlike of me. The third reason is I am insane and if I decide to do something one way, I can’t be stopped (somebody help). So, I came up with this thing made of CCBS shells that you see here. These are literally all green CCBS shells in these sizes I own.

Here’s how it all is held together