stop motion help?

so ive been dipping my toe into stop motion with constraction figures and It isn’t going that well. sets are very hard to make and my characters seen to constantly fall over. the other problem I have is the movement always seen too big. I have attached a sample of my stop motion. HOW CAN I IMPROVE?

3 Likes

I’m no expert because I haven’t done stop motion in a long time, but I’d recommend getting a stable light source. When I was taking some more professional photos for a contest I was entering a while back, normal lights weren’t doing the trick so my mom and a sibling held flashlights to better get all of the details. I’d also recommend a very stable stand for your camera.

As for character stability, that’s a bit tricky - with CCBS bone pieces like you were using, it’s going to be hard to click the armor on without the skeleton shifting a bit. When you can, I guess you could try to put tiny little pieces of tape on the balls of the joints to increase friction. I had to do that with my Toa Mata Gali set and it works pretty well, you can’t see the tape unless you’re really looking for it.

Movements seeming big is just something that happens. If you’ve got more points of articulation, you can have smaller movements that don’t change overall posture as much, but with a standard Hero Factory dude, big motions are kind of all you can get.

I hope this helped! I also recommend checking out some guides on YouTube, I remember there was a guy who made specifically Bionicle stop motion videos who was really good at it. I can’t remember his name now, but he gave some great tips.

5 Likes

If stability is an issue, using something like putty on the feet might help

I think the only solution here is to have more frames, with less movement between each one

That said, I think the sample you shared is actually really well done!

5 Likes

I used to do quite a bit of stop motion myself! Based on your little sample video, here’s my advice: