Stop motion tips?

So recently I’ve been wanting to do a stop motion film. I’ve been thinking of a cool story, and I was going to use established characters, along with some of my own. But this is where the problem starts. I don’t have a computer of my own, and to my understanding, you need editing software.(I think). Also, I know you don’t need an amazing camera to do this kind of thing, but I feel that would make it better. Also, considering I’m a freshman, I have a decent amount of free time, but I would have no idea how or where to begin. So, due to the situation, this probably won’t happen, but tips would be appreciated…

3 Likes

About the editing software, I can only suggest things on a mac. The program I use is iStopmotion, which is brilliant. I do believe there is something out there called SAM animation? I think you can download a free trial.

I wouldn’t go straight into a complex story with many episodes for your first animation. Maybe do just a little sketch or a battle between two people. Then you can work your way up to a big stop motion series!

Thanks dood. My sis has a Mac, but she won’t let me near it (insert white girl stereotype)

3 Likes

Actually, if you’re running Windows you already have a stopmotion program in the form of WLMM (Windows Live Movie Maker). It’s incredibly simple, although every time you put new frames in you have to change their length.

1 Like

I dont have a PC so…yea

Oh O_o

Don’t know what to tell you then.

Ever tried Monkey Jam?

???lolwut

It’s a wonderful Stop-Motion program. I used to use it in my days of animating.

This film was made in Monkey Jam. It’s one me and my brother worked on:

3 Likes

These are cool, but it stems back to me not having a computer

Best free stop motion program for Windows- Helium Frog
Best tip to know- ease in, ease out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0XrRJAiIepY
Helpful object- sticky tack (to hold things that would’t otherwise balance)

1 Like