Warhammer (Fantasy)

I found a Warhammer 40k topic, but nothing dedicated to the tabletop fantasy world which spawned all this madness. I’m quite new to Warhammer and am looking for good jumping-off points in the forms of novels and such. I would even get into the figures if they weren’t so expensive.

Empire is best faction.

6 Likes

The miniatures aren’t too bad, if you know where to look. Besides, the new ones and the ones from GW don’t come with the right bases for WHFB.

Check out ebay, and facebook buy swap and sell sites for better deals.

2 Likes

Yes! as @Doremarpool said you can get a decent starter army from local players and 3rd parties. Though I’d recommend if you wanna get into it, pick an army that you really like (For Example: I really Enjoy Chaos and Lizardmen!) because they are expensive if you wanna buy from GW itself (especially when you factor shipping) and you’ll probably be stuck with that army for a bit. Go to places like Lexicanum to read up on the Lore and each armies aspects etc before picking one you like. Then if you want pick up some novels (which are fairly inexpensive for the most part) or start purchasing your army. Remember, you can always start off small. You don’t have to go all out and get like 2,000+ points worth of units, sometime smaller games are better (especially for starters because they allow for quicker games so you have to time to replay it a few times to get the hang of all the rules).

1 Like

Lexicanum is pretty good, but nothing beats 1d4chan for an irreverent look at the source material :stuck_out_tongue:

2 Likes

I’ll have to check them out then.

1 Like

I’m a skaven man, but unfortunately I only got into it during the end times, when it was gonna blow up.

1 Like

I have heard only bad things about the End Times. What’s up with it?

Well, spoilers, but the world blows up.
Honestly, I read thanquol, and it was a thrill to see such massive, cataclysmic battles.