#1: Kaj, Toa of Earth (Toa Project)

#Introducing, Toa Kaj

“The stars have called upon a new Toa team to thwart the schemes of evil. It seems the shadows are growing again.”

Formerly an Onu-Koro Guardian and lightstone miner, Kaj is now the stoic hunter of a new Toa team.
(See end for information on the Toa Project.)

#Build

My style is to keep MOCs simple but creative, such that they look as much like real sets as possible.
Unfortunately, I’m not very good at sewing felt hoods. Other materials are available.

The two major custom parts of the body are the upper arms and legs:

The torso is built from an upper and lower Vahki torso piece. The upper torso piece works particularly well with my gearbox design.

#Weapons and Functions
Kaj carries two daggers, a bow and an arrow:

The arrow slots through the bow as shown below. Using the rubber band, the bow can be used to launch the arrow (more effective than you would think).

Using modifications to my compact gearbox design (see here), the right arm (but not the left) can be turned. Ball joints allow the arms to move independently.

All of the weapons can be stored on Kaj:

Daggers:

The daggers can be stored on the sides of the legs as shown.

Bow and Arrow:

Attachments on the gearbox allow for storage on the back.

Here he is with everything stored.

You might have noticed that the hands / claws aren’t connected in the usual fashion.

This setup positions the claws in a more realistic way, and also allows for thumbs to be added.
Weapons are added using the top axle hole on the hand piece which, when utilised, creates the impression that weapons are actually being gripped when attached.

I had to get a bit creative when attaching the bow since the system above doesn’t work very well with it.

The claw piece is detached and reattached onto the bow itself.

#Colours
As this is also my self-MOC, I thought I’d use Kaj as he possesses both my favourite mask and colour scheme.

The purple pieces are custom-painted.