Bionicle 2016 revamps by NOTaHFfan (Toa, Umarak and Ekimu)

Hello everyone!

The last time I posted a MOC on this site was about… (checks notes) a freaking eternity ago, so it’s, like, time to fix this or something, I guess…

And I’m going to do exactly that by posting eight MOCs at once. In one topic, naturally, because I don’t want to clog up the timeline and these are best viewed as a group.

(My background is really struggling to contain all of them, I even had to resort to magical editing trickery)

This is a series of G2 set revamps I built about two years ago.
I’ve always had mixed feelings about the sets from the first half of 2016. On one hand, they had great designs, interesting new pieces, they were complex enough not to be boring to build. On the other hand, the proportions of the characters were absolutely atrocious, with most of them having limbs too short for their bodies and either weirdly placed or excessively wide shoulders. And that’s not talking about some really strange colour schemes and colour choices that didn’t work at all.

Despite all the problems of the sets, they still had a special place in my heart (for some bizarre reason that I don’t really want to get into), which is the main reason why I decided to revamp them in the first place, creating definitive versions of each character, exactly the way I want to see them.

As you can see, these builds don’t follow my current MOCing style whatsoever. This is because the main rule I gave myself while building them was to stay as close to the original colour schemes and designs as possible, while fully reworking the builds and improving them in every way I could. Well, that and also the fact that building 8 fully fledged MOCs in my current style would put a galaxy sized dent in my part collection and sanity.

Let’s start with the Toa I mean Uniters I mean Toa I mean Uniters I mean-

TAHU, UNITER OF FIAAAAAHHHHH

original set for reference