My art entry for the Toa Hagah! (Bionicle Canon Contest #3: Honor Guard, Part 2)

Hi everyone! I am new to the chat boards, but a huge fan of bionicle. It was one of the most important items of my early years; it opened my mind to storytelling and even design. I found out about this contest on Bionicle Day and was so exited to hear about it, I knew I had to try it out!

Everyone who entered and won Part 1 of the contest did such an amazing job, I wanted to keep the designs as close to the winning choices as possible because they knocked it out of the park. I even homage some of the poses because it’s how I positioned them myself in the early sketch I made! I made some choices on the metal, and made some tweaks to the mask of Gaaki, small but tweaks I wanted to pursue to make her mask feel more like rebreather, something more aquatic.

I wanted to make sure I followed the rules, couldn’t follow the item about drawing the masks lol so I drew all of them. Let me know what you think fellow Bionicle lovers! I look forward to talking with you and seeing the other entries!

52 Likes

Love that little flourish of adding the pitted texture from the piraka shins to the chest piece on Gaaki. Goes a long way to make her design as cohesive as the other 5.
Copper Gaaki is also always a win.

The composition is nice but I can’t help but feel like it’s just a little too crowded in the center, and some of the poses are a tad awkward. (Also suspect characters/elements were outright traced or filtered, which to your credit - still at least looks decent here anyway and wouldn’t look out of place on the wiki pages - but will make it difficult for me to justify voting for this over other entries that weren’t…)
Otherwise, I still quite like this entry, good luck in the contest.
(As far as I know, you’re the first to give Kualus his glowing white rhotuka :wink: )

2 Likes

:face_with_raised_eyebrow:

1 Like