Practicality Of The Toa's Weapons

Awesome as many of the Toa’s weapons may be, you have to wonder how effective they’d really be as weapons. I remember when I was a kid, and I was building custom Bionicle figures, I’d slap together a bunch of pieces to make a weapon that I thought looked cool, but when I started playing with it, it didn’t go over so well. The weapon (s) would either be too heavy, or they’d fall apart easily.

In the real world, there are a number of different functions weapons are designed for. Heavier swords and axes are used for chopping, since heavier blades will have more momentum and will therefore hit with bigger impact. The issue with this, however, is that heavier weapons can be harder for a person to lift. In addition, swords always have a center of balance. The ones used for chopping have their center of balance near the tip of the blade, but the ones for dueling have it closer to the hilt.

Many of the Toa’s weapons seem to fall into the latter category-swords that are used for dueling. Tahu Mata’s flame-shaped sword, Jaller Mahri’s blade, Matau Metru’s aero slicers, and Kopaka Mata’s sword are pretty good-sized for dueling swords, and they don’t appear to be that heavy. In fact, the same holds true for a lot of the Toa’s weapons. Lewa Mata’s hatchet/axe, Hewkii Marhi’s spear, and even the Inika’s weapons…they all seem pretty like weapons that could exist in the real world. They’re not overly big or showy, it’s easy to tell where their points of balance are, and even the “chopping” weapons don’t look excruciatingly heavy.

Unfortunately, there are some Toa weapons that don’t seem so practical. First off is Kopaka Nuva.