Thaeli the Shadow, Fallen Toa of Earth

As outgoing and kind as she was stealthy and tricksy, Thaeli lived as one of the many street urchins in Onu-Koro before she was taken in as the final member of her Toa team. Affectionately dubbed “The Little Sister,” Thaeli not only served as the team’s designated scout, but also the emotional glue that held them together. Though even her best efforts failed to save her, and her team from destruction within…

Remember when TheMOCingbird posted Bionicle mocs? Yeah, me neither. Anyway, here’s the 5th member of my Toa team I’ve been working on for quite a couple years now, and I’m pretty happy with how she came out. The build process of this moc is actually quite interesting: I started the build with this toa in mind, then for a contest was converted into a moc of the character Vin from Sanderson’s Mistborn books (who this toa was already heavily based off of), and then finally back into Thaeli. I wanted a thin, feminine-but-not-too-feminine, athletic build, almost like a gymnast or ballerina, and I’m happy with the result. I really tried to be intentional with the textures and color blocking, with the dark gray almost representing skin, and the black as tight clothing. Choosing a mask that fit the moc gave me the most grief by far, and I’m still not totally satisfied with it, and the foot design is inspired by Djura from Wombat Combat’s discord. All the chains and the sash-net-thingey were later additions, and I think they really give the moc some personality with almost a goth/punk feel to them, which is fitting seeing as Thaeli used to be a little punk before all that Toa Hero business. My favorite pat though would have to be the bow (which explains why I took so many dang pics of it). Now time for my obligatory statement about rambling too long before I just show you the pics already, cause let’s be real, that’s what you’re here for.