Tips for MOC Photography

After Reading Crunchy’s post on the “tips to Start Bio-MOCing” I thought I’d write up a guide to MOCing Photography. I think my MOCs photos speak for themselves. Its something I’ve been working at for a few years now, and while it’s still a work in progress, I’m mostly satisfied with my MOC’s photographs. I present:

Dave's Guide to professional(ish) MOC photography for poor people!

Getting top notch looking photography isn’t as hard as you might think. With a few purchases you could potentially get MOC photographs that look like this.

I’ll start off by showing off my Photography set up.

Everything shown here is what I use to take all my MOC phtoographs except my Camera because well Durr, I gotta take the picture and its not like I have another camera to take a picture of my camera. :stuck_out_tongue:

Now I lucked out and got a pretty nice professional set up. The light tent, background inserts, lamps, and light defusers for the lamps are all part of a set. I got it from my Step-Dad who’s old job wasn’t using it anymore. It sat forgotten about in storage so I “liberated it” This gear is what I’ve been using to take my MOC photos since 2011.

Even though my “set up” is actually somewhat professional grade, there’s really easy ways to replicate the functionality of such a kit without spending the $100 it costs to go buy your own.

Lighting