Bionicle 2010: The Synergy that could have been

Ever since Bionicle’s cancellation was announced in late '09, and especially more recently, I’ve been so confused by LEGO’s choice to do so. I get that the sets in '08 weren’t selling that well. Whether it was because the story was getting too complex or because the set designs were starting to get stale though, both problems were pretty much going to be taken care of in 2009 and it baffles me that the LEGO execs didn’t have enough faith in a soft reboot and better and more innovative Inika designs. In fact, if I recall correctly, Bionicle was originally going to end after the Ignition trilogy, but the LEGO execs pushed for Bionicle to go on for more years.

What most people don’t realize though, is the painful irony of the timing of Bionicle’s cancellation. Because right around the time the announcement was made, guess what book had just been published:

I’m no expert in economics at all, but considering this book and the planned 2010 both had colossal shifting mazes as themes, you can’t tell me there wouldn’t have been some sort of synergy that would have contributed to sales.

4 Likes

I’m confused about what you’re proposing. That the book - which I’ve never heard of in my life ngl - cause the sales to go down?

1 Like

No, that’s not what I’m saying.

The planned 2010 story of Bionicle would have involved the Valley of the Maze. I’m saying that there possibly could have been some positive effect on sales for both parties.

I don’t know, maybe I’m looking a bit too much into this…

4 Likes

Yeah, I think that might be the case. I don’t see a relatively obscure novel affecting the sales of a multi-billion dollar company just because they have a common thread.

That being said I could be wrong about the books being obscure, maybe I’m just uncultured. They’ve only sold 6 million copies in 11 years, though … And even if the books were super famous I don’t think it’d have affected it.

3 Likes